A Vermont law in place since July puts restrictions on the resale of catalytic converters in an effort to decrease thefts of the converters. For example, scrap processors cannot purchase more than one used converter per day from any single person. A person cannot transport two or more converters at a time unless they carry specific paperwork. The law adds paperwork requirements for scrap processors to go through. It also limits the number of catalytic converters that can be purchased, moved, and sold at a time. Statewide, catalytic converter thefts happen regularly, and having more identification requirements helps investigators figure out if there was crime associated with the converter down the road. This law puts Vermont more in sync with its New England neighbors, noting sometimes crimes happen across state borders. The bill can help legitimate people selling catalytic converters legally. For those convicted of stealing catalytic converters, the punishments can include grand larceny charges, unlawful mischief charges, and even prison. Under this new law, fines for an illegal transaction could cost up to $1,000 for the first time, and up to $25,000 for a repeat time.
- Investigators are sifting through the rubble at the site of a massive blaze
- Many Vermonters are still struggling to file unemployment claims